Each tattoo artist needs a loan of patience and tact when dealing with various individuals. If you already have needed qualities, it is a big plus for you. Yet, you shouldn’t forget about obtaining a Wisconsin tattoo license as well. If interested, continue reading!
The WI Department of Health and Family Services is where you should make requests. Any individual, corporation, entity, or partnership should turn to the department to secure a license.
The Health Department provides the form of the application. Here is what information you need to provide:
1. The name(s) and aliases, birthdate(s), and address(es) of:
2. A written proof that each applier is at least 18 years old
3. The address of the institution (you have to authorize)
4. A proof of whether the applier has previously worked under a similar license in any other state, whether he/she has revoked it or not
5. The name and address of the registered agent, the name, date, and state of the incorporation (if the applicant is a corporation)
6. Ownership/lease proof to use/control/possess premises where the establishment is to be situated
NOTE: Failure or refusal of any of the above-mentioned points can be grounds for denial later. The applicant will be regarded as ineligible for a tattoo permit.
Of course, the answer is positive. So, there should be no tattoo/body piercing establishment, that will operate without acquiring a permit.
It will be unlawful for any operator, tattooist, or body piercer to perform services without having valid licensure pursuant to this sphere.
To prevent the causes of serious illnesses to the public, specialists in this field should be well prepared. Many artists pick up this specialty as a hobby, even without minimum experience and training.
These illegal tattooists place financial gain before clients’ health and safety. As a result, they lost more than they gain. They get fines ranging from $500-$2,000 per day for operating without proper authorization.
Here are all the payments included in the whole process of getting authorized:
Unless the inspector releases your license, you can not operate your business. You will be free to operate, only if the inspector determines that you are ready to work during pre-inspection.
During the following couple of weeks, you will receive your paper copy of the authorization.
Also, not to face any problems later, you can check on our Wisconsin business license article. It will be a guide for you to operate legally.
The licensing year lasts from July 1 to June 30. The renewals are sent out in April. To avoid late fees and revocation of the permit, you must renew it no later than June 30.